My friends have been asking me why I still prefer to use WinAmp after all the “coolness” of the new Windows Media Player (WMP) release. I’ve been using WinAmp since my Dad bought me my first computer. oui oui

I say:

1. It’s easier to organize music files with WinAmp. I don’t like the extravagance of the new WMP’s library layout. gah, having almost 500 files in your playlist or library would render that WMP’s extravagant layout useless and annoying.

2. It’s easier to browse and stream music with AOL music through WinAmp.

3. It has a web browser.

4. It can play FLAC, WMP can’t. (most of my music files are in this format so it’s definitely WinAmp for me). you don’t know FLAC?

FLAC Guide for Idiots

(Free Lossless Audio Codec) An audio compression technology from the Xiph.Org Foundation http://www.xiph.org). It is a royalty-free codec used to compress CD audio files to at least 50% of their original size (2:1 ratio). Unlike MP3, which provides much greater compression but eliminates content, FLAC restores the music to the original PCM 44kHz, 16-bit audio stream of CD audio.

5. I can install plug-ins, like AMIP which allows its user to announce what’s he/she is listening to in IRC or even in a webpage. hmm… more like Mozilla and its add-ons.

6. ooh, one more thing and probably the best thing about WinAmp, I can enjoy a lot of animu WinAmp skins or even make my own [skin]. There are animated free-form ones, just like the animated Hatusne Miku skin I got from dango.  Imagine Hatsune Miku, singing while playing your fave animu music, isn’t that fun? she’s singing, really. XD  here a screenshot of my WinAmp in the Miku Miku skin. Click to enlarge. ^^

oh, you want it too? first get yourself a WinAmp player by downloading it here:  http://www.winamp.com/player

Then download this Miku Miku skin and put it in the skins folder of Winamp [C:\Program Files\Winamp\Skins]

http://www.mediafire.com/?ondewjviwir

Credits would go to anonymous. gomen. dango just found this skin in a Japanese site. But whoever made this skin, domo arigatou gozaimasu. /orz

or this hot Hatsune Miku skin [credits to murderprincess]

Download link: http://www.mediafire.com/?4yonzkjzj0j

and this cute Lucky Star skin [credits to murderprincess]

Download link: http://www.mediafire.com/?a2kwjrznmwb

There are a lot of animu winamp skins in the internet, just google them OK? ^^ Or if you know how to fo scripting, you can make your own skin. there are  a lot of tutorials you can find online.

